RSS Feed

The Wildwood Session (audio CD)

Chuck Dodson, piano

"Intelligent, sensitive, beautiful."

The songs on this album cover a lot of territory. There are four jazz ballads (Someone To Watch Over Me, My Foolish Heart, Don't Blame Me, and You Are Too Beautiful), The Beatles' Nowhere Man, Jimmy Webb's Wichita Lineman, the Crowded House hit Don't Dream It's Over, Thelonious Monk's bebop standard Well You Needn't, and Elton John's Your Song. The remaining 6 tracks were improvised in the studio.

Dodson's playing contains elements of many styles (jazz, classical, pop, rock, gospel, blues, experimental) and many eras (stride, bebop, and the full gamut of pop and rock from the 60s through the present time, even including post rock). He's a master of space and harmony, creating vast open landscapes only to invade them with quirky (yet highly melodic) lines, some branching off from the core of the composition, others seeming to come from out of nowhere. He deconstructs popular songs and reworks them in a way that seems to give them a new soul. He was to the end of the first verse of the hugely famous Your Song before I recognized it. But when I heard it the second time his interpretation made all the sense in the world.

Chuck is joined on this album by cellist John Catchings (Bela Fleck, Ben Folds, Bon Jovi, Cat Stevens, Dixie Chicks, Hammock, India.Arie, Jason Mraz, Jessica Simpson, Jim Brickman, John Mayer, Keith Urban, Lambchop, LeAnn Rimes, Linda Eder, Linda Rondstadt, Ron Sexsmith, Spoon, Steve Earle, Yo La Tango, ...And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead, and many others), and violinist David Davidson (Bruce Springsteen, Clay Aiken, Collective Soul, Don McLean, Faith Hill, Howie Day, Indigo Girls, John Mayer, John Tesh, John Williams, Kristin Chenoweth, Martha Wainwright, Melissa Manchester, Michael Crawford, Randy Travis, Switchfoot, Train, Trey Anastasio, and many others). Guitarist Paul Brannon plays on Well You Needn't.

Produced by Chuck Dodson
Recorded September 2009 at Wildwood Studio in Franklin (Nashville) Tennessee
Recording session engineered by Brendan Harkin
Edited, mixed and mastered by Chuck Dodson
The piano was a Yamaha C-7 FD11
Photography by Thomas Petillo and Eric Overacker
Graphic design by Mary Candyce Sanders

Track List:
1. Trio Improv (2:55)
2. Nowhere Man (3:28)
3. Someone To Watch Over Me (4:47)
4. Piano and Cello Improv (3:22)
5. Don't Blame Me (4:20)
6. Piano and Cello Improv (1:22)
7. My Foolish Heart (3:20)
8. Well You Needn't (3:37)
9. Wichita Lineman (3:29)
10. Piano Improv (4:31)
11. Piano and Cello Improv (2:03)
12. You Are Too Beautiful (5:17)
13. Piano Improv "Blues" (3:28)
14. Don't Dream It's Over (5:45)
15. Your Song (7:38)

Shipping & handling fee for this item is $3.00 and will be added automatically at checkout.


Add to Art Bag:

Copyright © 2009 The Gallery@404b. All rights reserved.